The most I can manage right now

Not much knitting these days! Milly is now 8 weeks old, Zella is as precocious as ever and absolutely no knitting has been done. It doesn’t help that my knitting bag and all of my tools are still packed, but mostly I am just too busy holding a chubby baby. When I was pregnant with Zella I queried all the experienced moms I could find, “will I be able to knit after the baby comes?” they all said yes – THEY LIED!! I did not have a chance to make a single thing until Zella was 18 months old. Likewise with this baby. I have a new sewing machine, but a much needed sewing project lies half cut out and abandoned on the kitchen table.

But.

Guilt got the better of me last night: Thursday Zella bought a monkey from the dollar area of Target (she has her own money, I could not discourage her!) and later that night while we were eating with my dad she noticed its neck was a little open at the seams. Since I have always had a problem separating inanimate objects from animate ones, I could not let her exchange Monkey for a new one since I felt bad for it. I promised her I could sew it up as good as new then as soon as we got home I promptly became too busy to do so. Yesterday morning she woke up and ran out bright eyed from bed, hopeful to see the new improved Monkey only to find it with its neck guts still hanging out. I felt terrible. She has shown absolutely no jealousy for her new sister but at this rate it seems inevitable. Last night I woke up at 4am and sewed the monkey’s tracheotomy closed, then crocheted this little messenger bag for him/her:

I grabbed the nearest non-wool yarn, which was Debbie Bliss’ Cathay (1/2 cotton, some microfiber, some silk) and a lousy crochet hook I found lying around (my good ones, the Clover Soft Touch, are all packed in that knitting bag somewhere) and set to work. Lovely yarn! A little splitty with a too-small crochet hook but overall worth it. I had to sew it together with sewing thread and the chain strap is unfortunately tied on – all the requisite cro-bar features are there. I knew I’d find a use for that duck button eventually.

Leave a Reply

